2019 Scholarship Winners

    The 2009 NC SWANA Ray Church Memorial Scholarship Program

    The North Carolina Chapter of the Solid Waste Association of North America is pleased to continue to support higher education by means of financial and educational support.  Annually, the North Carolina Chapter offers scholarships to our members and/or their family members to continue educational endeavors.  In 2010, the North Carolina Chapter announced that this annual scholarship program would continue to honor the memory of former Board Member, Mr. Ray Church passed away on September 25, 2006 and former served as the solid waste director for New Hanover County.  Mr. Church additionally served the association in many capacities as an esteemed Board member.  Foremost, he was one of the founding members of our organization.  Mr. Church supported recognizing members through the scholarship program and recommended the expansion of the scholarship awards in order to broaden the financial support for members seeking to enrich their education.

    The North Carolina Chapter selected: 

    2019 Scholarship Winners

    Miss Grace Divley of Hurdle Mills, NC
    $3,000 Ray Church Memorial Scholarship Award

    The North Carolina Chaper was proud to submit Grace Dively's application as our first place winner to the International Board for consideration for the National Scholarship competition.  In July 2019, the Chapter was notified that Grace Dively was one of SWANA International's recipients of the Grant H. Flint Schoarship and was awarded an additional $5,000 in shcolarship funds.  
    Congratulations Grace!


    Miss Samantha Stahl of Franklin, NC
    $2,000 Ray Church Memorial Scholarship Award



    Miss Emily Murray of Clayton, NC
    $1,000 Ray Church Memorial Scholarship Award


    By our award and selection, the Chapter's winner application became eligible for the International SWANA competition. 

    The North Carolina Chapter will continue to support the educational efforts of our membership.  We thank all that were involved through application submissions, evaluation, and selection.  Congratulations to our winners.